I tend to apply in some company that hires employees online. I have been surfing the net and find some job vacancies for me to apply. I came to search over the website bestjobs.ph. I thought that this site gives reliable sources and employers that could help Filipinos in searching better jobs. I applied in many job offers and some emailed and contact me for the interviews. At first, I applied job offers within the Philippines, but I also tried to apply abroad. One of the jobs I applied to, is for a Secretary position in Sony BMG based in London. I just clicked on it and email them for my application.
After a week, I received an email with an attached appointment letter which is in PDF file. The email says:
————————————

From
Ged Doherty
Chairman & Managing Director
SONY BMG Music Entertainment UK
UK main office
Bedford House
69-79 Fulham High Street
London
SW6 3JW
Opening Hours:
Mon-Wed: 10:00-19:00
Thurs-Sat: 10:00-20:00
+447031926863
To Monalyn Geleram ,
Sony BMG hereby appoints you as the new Secretary . Attached is your Appointment offer letter which describes the terms and conditions of your appointment .
You have to obtain a Work permit and UK Entry Clearance to be able to work in London . Sign the Appointment offer letter and submit it to the work permit department of the immigration home office through email and also ask them for details on how to obtain an Emergency UK Work permit and UK Entry Clearance . Their contact details are :
Work Permits Department
Immigration and Nationality Department
40 Wellesley Road
Croydon CR9 3RR
London , England
The Immigration home office will also assist you in obtaining a UK working Visa after your work permit and UK Entry Clearance is issued . The Company would provide a free accomodation for you at the Company’s staff quarters and also pay for your flight ticket to London .The Company would proceed with your travel arrangements to London as soon as your work permit and UK Entry Clearance is issued . Your work start date is April 7th 2008 . Your Intended address of stay/work is 69-79 Fulham High Street London . You are liable for the expenses of your work permit application but the company would reimburse you on all the expenses that you incurred when you start working . Please note that the job has been secured for you by the Management of SONY BMG MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT .
___
The Appointment letter: (kindly click the picture for a larger image)
__

____
At first, I was so excited, magine the offer? Who wouldn’t be interested with it? Big salary, everything is free, plus 4 times vacation per year? Wow! But, in my second thought, why isn’t there any interview. I was hired without them knowing me or in reverse? And why is it that they did not write my name in the appointment letter if that job was really for me?
What I did is, I search for the email address applications@london.com , I found one forum that asked if it’s just a scam. No doubt it is. So we better have to be careful.
2 comments
Comments feed for this article
March 13, 2008 at 5:46 pm
Work From Home
[...] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptYou have to obtain a Work permit and UK Entry Clearance to be able to work in London . Sign the Appointment offer letter and submit it to the work permit department of the immigration home office through email and also ask them for … [...]
July 15, 2008 at 9:17 am
anne
Ive read an email same with you. its an email for me yesterday that they hired really same word by words from the email youve got . so it mean bestjob.ph site in philippines is not reliable. you know what i called the number indicated in the letter and it says hes dave lewis ceo of lux company and it was really funny coz i search the company under the address indicate , there was no lux company, so my friend advice me to check on immigration sites in uk and i found out that everything is a lie. well my question is do u think is there any authorities can stop this, what if there is a person who believes in this and grab as he or she believes its true and later on she discover that its scam or modus operandi. who can make secured for everybody thru internet?